Faster than a Tiger!

Hey everyone! Just updating my status : )
remember, click the photos to see a larger version!

As you can see from my collection list, I have 3 species of tarantula in the genus Psalmopoeus.

The three I currently own are called Psalmopoeus irminia, Psalmopoeus cambridgei and Psalmopoeus pulcher.

I had one P. irminia die on my a few weeks ago, of unknown causes. Found it dead and limp unfortunately. So recently I got another P. irminia, and she is quite the cutie! They are from South America, and are a new world species. However, they do not flick hairs, but instead run really fast when they need to! Some people have said they are quite defensive rearing up and stuff, but so far, out of the three species I keep, they are quite shy, and always hungry!

I keep them relatively humid, during the morning and night I will see the glass get condensation on it due to the temperature changes. My room runs from 70 in the night to about 80-85 in the day.

As they are arboreal they like to climb things, but they are just as content burrowing and making giant tub web tunnels that traverses their cork bark.

Anyways, heres some pictures, if you have any questions, feel free to e-mail me. Also I am looking for a male for my P. pulcher female, so if you know anyone with a dude, let me know!

Here is the first species I got, the Suntiger (black chevron tarantula) P. irminia
.8″ She’s small right now, but once she gets 5″ in a year or two she will be quite the beast!

Here is the second species I acquired, P. cambridgei. she’s ALWAYS hungry! this was just after a molt so she’s skinny!! 4″

Last but not least is Princess Peaches. This is one species i’ve always wanted since I entered the hobby! it’s so vibrant, and beautiful!
She just finished a molt so she’s still skinny! (fat now but i dont have a camera at the moment!)
So here is P. pulcher!!

beauty!!

Thanks for reading, and hope you enjoyed! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Faster than a Tiger!

    • Hey there, thanks for the replie πŸ™‚ all spiders molt throughout their life span, just like most invertebrates such as crabs, and centipedes πŸ™‚ Scorpions only molt 7-8 times in their life cycle, and once they hit their adult 7th molt, they stop. However, tarantulas grow for as long as they live πŸ™‚ it might not be such a visible increase when they are 15 years old, but there is growth, even if it means just fixing up their exo skeleton πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

